Fitness Love (#backstoryweek) 

2013 was a very boring yet very exciting year. My family had just moved back to the city we lived in before we moved to the US, but when we got back everything was pretty much the same so it wasn’t as exciting as other moves.

Taking the first steps.

I was quite bored one day and decided to just take a little walk on the treadmill in the basement. Earlier in the winter before my family tried to do a couch to 5k programme by running intervals around the neighbourhood, and I hated it. It was always so cold and my legs would ache during the run and after it. But we kept it up all around Christmas and into the new year a little. Really it was just so I could pig out on cookies and not feel too guilty because I was a “runner”. Once we actually hit the part where we were running for more than 5 minutes at a time we stopped. But this day I was so bored and wanted to feel like “a runner” again so I walked on the treadmill for 30 minutes.

Progressing.

I had used Runkeeper before for the first time running and logged this new treadmill walk in. You can set goals there and it tells you once they’ve been completed so I set my goal to walk for 30 minutes 3 times per week. I would walk so slowly. So slowly that now I can barely walk that slow without it feeling super awkward. But you have to start from somewhere! To keep entertained I would get my reading done for the day. Soon 3 times a week progressed to every day besides a break, 30 minutes to an hour and soon it was a part of my daily routine.

 

Dance.

Shortly after returning to Canada my mom signed me up for dance lessons at the local community centre. My parents signed me up for ballet almost as soon as I could walk. I can remember Saturday mornings at the studio and performing from really early on. I stopped dance when I was 7 and this would be the first time fully returning to it since then. Dance motivated me in my fitness to stretch and care for myself, to work other muscles besides just walking, and to try and improve. Everyday I would walk then spend half an hour practicing what I had learnt in dance and stretching to become more flexible.

Discovering Pilates.

After walking on the treadmill for a few months it had gotten kind of boring. My mom had done Pilates before and recommend I check it out to start to strengthen other muscles. I looked up videos on YouTube and discovered Blogilates! Starting with a beginner calendar, I did that for January 2014 and fell in love with Pilates. It’s similar to dance with lots of strength building and flexibility, it was fun and easy to keep organized as to what workouts to do because there’s always a Blogilates monthly calendar. I felt much stronger and could tell it improved my dance and running.

Making my own plan.

After switching between a month of Pilates then a month of walking I started to make my own plans. Using Google Doc I made my own plan basing it off of the Blogilates calendars and using her videos then adding in walks and runs to change things up and not get bored.

Running.

Since this spring I decided to start running by adding in some higher speed intervals and I’m currently trying to push myself to keep running faster and for longer periods of time.

Food.

With working out more came the want to eat better. I read about how to best fuel my body, about Canada’s food guide, and looked up new healthier recipes to try.

 

Weight.

The original motivation to be healthier was not for weight loss but it did come along with everything. I had always been a chubbier kid and didn’t usually mind it terribly much, but I was very self conscious. After exercise I would always feel very accomplished and good about myself which helped with the consciousness, and once I started to see significant changes in myself it became an addiction and I constantly wanted to improve and get stronger. After one year of Pilates and walking I lost 60lbs and grew several inches since I was still in the process of growing.

 

Becoming a part of me.

Now this is one of my favourite things. To workout is the best part of my day, and I love finding new things to cook that are delicious and healthy!
I count making the workout calendars and doing all the workouts as physical education for high school and can count other things as health and hospitality.

 
That is the backstory of my ever continuing fitness journey!

 

P.S. It’s Peri

The apps and YouTube channel I’ve mentioned in this post I truly love and I’m mentioning because they’re very useful to me. This is not sponsored. 

2 thoughts on “Fitness Love (#backstoryweek) 

  1. This is such a great post! Like you, I love to dance (but only for exercise, I’m not that good :P) and running/walking on the treadmill, but I’ve never had a regular routine. You’ve inspired me to start one! I’ll definitely check out Blogilates! Congrats on your weight loss; you’re gorgeous no matter what weight you are, but that is so rewarding! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

