2017 Goals

I really love goal setting, it’s probably the OCD in me that wants to take some control in life. Plus it’s so nice after accomplishing goals. And I think it helps me get closer to where I want to be in life? Or at least it makes me think I am, which is good enough.

 

Where I want to be in a year.

The first thing I do before setting the new goals is try to imagine where I want to be at this time next year. Where I am? What have I accomplished? Has there been major changes in my life? How do I feel? This often doesn’t actually help at all because I can barely imagine where I’m going to be tomorrow let alone a year. It also might set too high expectations, but I like to think I’m a pretty reasonable person.

For the next year I haven’t really pictured where I want to be in a year. This year I was thinking more like “If I could do this past year again, what would I do differently?” I have been craving change. I want to change lots of things this year but not go too crazy. My motto is “rebirth” and “live”.  Just improvement and change.

 

A few of the things I would like to accomplish over the coming year:

  1. To be less anxious. I’ve often struggled with anxiety so I would like to work on keeping it under control and managing stress.
  2. To be kinder to myself. Sometimes I just get a little too critical of myself.
  3. Enjoy being content more. It sounds kind of weird but I like being not happy sometimes or I take being content for granted.
  4. Take more risks. I’ve always been afraid of risks but there’s not a lot of fun in not taking any.
  5. Work harder on being social. It doesn’t just magically happen.
  6. Get school things organized, make a new schedule style, stay motivated, and make it more enjoyable.
  7. Get things together for university.
  8. Job shadow more and/or volunteer, get a job.
  9. Learn to drive!! I keep putting it off.
  10. Keep pushing myself in my workouts and maybe do a 5k or something like that.

 

Categories

I have a big binder that I write down all the goals in and can keep coming back to and see what I have accomplished and add in more. There are 12 categories I have made for myself.

  1. Health and fitness
  2. Self improvement
  3. School
  4. Career
  5. Finance
  6. Style and self care
  7. Interdependence
  8. Friends, social, relationships
  9. Creativity
  10. Fun
  11. Blog
  12. Dance

I kind of know what things I want to accomplish in each of these categories and just take a day to write out all of the goals then make a game plan to get these things done!

 

Game plan

This is the really hard part that I like to procrastinate! But if I’m feeling productive I’ll try to make a plan on how to complete these goals. I haven’t done this for this year yet, but it’s coming!

A couple months ago I read 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens ( Honestly really good but sometimes I couldn’t stand the cheesiness, I would definitely recommend reading it, though! ) and it was really helpful with tips on setting goals, prioritizing, and completing the goals.


I’ll be working on my goals for 2017 throughout the year, but this is how I’m going to start out. What are some of your new year’s goals?

 

P.S. It’s Peri

 

6 thoughts on “2017 Goals

  1. Wonderful goals! I am hoping that you may have time to post about homeschooling curriculum from your view as a teen. Also I would like to know read about how living with a nut allergy affects your life. Thanks for the review of The Seven Habits of Highly Effective Teens, it is on my to-read list for our 1st teen very soon!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

