Looking Back

Sometimes I can be a bit too sentimental and it seems so old fashioned or melancholy but it’s kind of nice to look back on the year and see what happened since it felt like it flew by with nothing happening.

 

January

I’m not going to sugarcoat it, January was not the best. Instead of taking 2 months off of school in the summer I took 1 the previous summer and then half of December off and half of January. After Christmas was over I was very bored, there weren’t that many people I could talk to, I wasn’t pushing myself to do my best in anything, I wouldn’t get tired because I was only taking a little walk for my exercise and I need more than that. But in February I worked to fix all that!

 

February

I tried to surround myself with people I had met and tried to make new friends online, it was pretty successful and I met lots of great people and would call with 3 of them every day which really helped me get to know them and others! During the day I would wake up super late because of being on calls all night oops LOL, and do school, dance and walk. Not a lot of change from now. For school I did Math U See as always, then some French videos off of YouTube which helped me learn to pronounce things but didn’t really work with me for learning words, I worked on Khan Academy’s computer programming a lot then, too.

 

March

This was when I started to really journal so this is more documented! I remember just being really bored in March, baking a lot because I wasn’t sure what else to do lol, I started digitally drawing. School was pretty much the same as in February.

 

April

The first week in April was a dance competition and I got to help out at some of the dance classes while others were at the competition. I got my haircut for the first time in 5 years. And it was my birthday, all I can really remember from my birthday is making muffins at 3 am for breakfast, otherwise, I didn’t know what to do for it. And I got braces, can’t forget that! I started to feel more motivated in school so I did Georgia Public Broadcasting’s chemistry course and Khan Acdemy’s biology. 

 

May

More dance competitions, more drawing, I talked to someone who was going to school for illustrations and decided that I wanted to work on that more. Every day in May I did at least 200 squats, which was crazy but it really built strength fast! Took lots of pictures of spring showers, got lots of school done, assisted with a dance class for a bit, made a contentment plan, got my first phone, walked outside and explored the area a lot. In May I was pretty motivated since spring had arrived and it would soon be summer! It was a good new start from the winter.

From a walk. 

 

June

June was the end of dance classes for summer, there was an end of year recital and my company choreographed a dance together for it, I started to run a tiny bit, baked lots, started my hummus obsession, tried to finish up all the school I had procrastinated before it was summer break, put up our trampoline for the summer and got really sunburnt and that was probably the most I was outside all summer. No one ever talks about how hard it is to put a trampoline together, but it’s really hard. A bunch of my friends started calling every night. I decided that I liked Troye Sivan’s music.


A sunrise before I had gone to bed one very late night. 

 

July

Finished all the school that needed to be done before the break. Started summer break!! Basically, all I did in July was stay up for most of the night with my friends LOL which was so much fun and I definitely do not regret! That also sparked my newfound love for coffee in order to actually stay awake during the day.

 
More super late night sunrise.


Coffee and a half eaten black bean brownie. 

August

The same thing as July!! But at the end of August, I had Summer Dance that is all afternoon spent at the studio learning routines, strength and conditioning, stretching, it’s one of my favourite parts of summer! I got to go see some world class theatre, as well. I also discovered the TV show Glee which I was really late to but now I love it. And dyed my hair purple! 



Random pics.


Hair dye mess.

September

I got to see the journals of the author of my favourite book series Anne Of Green Gables which was such a cool experience and these particular journals were very exciting with stories of proposals. It always inspired me to journals more. Got them bottom half of my braces, which hurt a lot more than the tops. My one cat ran away for 11 days and we got a call from a couple who he had decided to go stay with, we got the cat back now. Started working on really running and strength building, again. And also went back to doing school and was highly motivated so got lots done. Dance started again, as well. Started to question if I should continue homeschooling. More posts on this later!! I did a little work with my dad. Fewer calls happened as friends went back to school and started to get busy. It was a new start to the school year and I was highly motivated to get as much school as possible done! Added in other subjects that I was interested in like Khan’s Wi-Phi Wireless Philosophy and Khan’s health course. 

 

A picture of Lucy Maude Montgomery in her journal.

October

My friends and I decided to put on an awards show, which we’re now doing for every season. We all suggest categories that there will be awards in, then nominate 3 of us for the award and make polls online. Everyone votes between a couple dedicated voting days, then two people “host” the awards and make a YouTube video together of them announcing who has won. I was one of the hosts for the first one and it took quite awhile to come up with everything so most of my time that wasn’t spent working out, dancing, or doing school, was spent on the videos and the rest of the awards for a good 2-3 weeks of October. It was also Canadian Thanksgiving so there was lots of cooking and visiting family.


Pumpkins!


Leaves changing colours. 


Thanksgiving cake fail. 


Driving home from thanksgiving visits. 


First snow! 

 

 

November

By November a lot of my motivation from before had faded, and I started to realise how many things need to be changed to work better for me. Most of November was spent researching universities, careers, laying out pros and cons to going to school, trying to figure out what needs to be changed here, all things I’m still trying to figure out and I will definitely write more on these!

Fresh apples.

 

Corn maze.

 

Troye Sivan concert! 

December

Still trying to figure out how things need to be changed, more university research, less motivation for school and everything. Then Christmas! See Christmas 2016. Then it brings us to the end of the year and now!
Christmas market.


Snowy mornings.


Cardinal visiting. 

 

Not a tonne happened in 2016 which isn’t really a bad thing! What were some of the highlights of your 2016?

 

P.S. It’s Peri

4 thoughts on “Looking Back

Leave a Reply

