Balance + Motivation

One of my words for 2017 is “balance”. Balance in schoolwork, social life, mood (LOL??), workouts, food, just balance in everything.

 

 

Motivation

As a homeschooler, I find one of the problems is motivation and actually getting schoolwork done ( #homeschoolproblems ). You have to be pretty self-driven especially if you take a lot of the control over your own work and curriculum. There isn’t really the peer pressure to get things done, or time limits, you can just stay in bed all day and never have to get out. It isn’t a bad thing but I find I need to be doing stuff, to actually get out of bed and get dressed and leave the house, in order to stay sane ( slight exaggeration ), so it’s super important to me to try to stay motivated and get things done, that’s where balance comes in.

 

 

Balance

I am really bad at balance. Like really bad. I procrastinated most of my schoolwork last year until the last month before summer break and got it all done then. I was highly motivated because it was almost the summer, and I couldn’t get summer break without having done any work. Learning doesn’t really work that way, though, and I’m thinking I should change my ways of binge learning. No more ( or at least less ) procrastinating, and no more time spent in these “down”, no motivation periods.

 

Balance in being social

There are times when I will barely be home from all the things going on, then there are times when I won’t leave the house for about a week straight. I would really like to change this because those weeks when I don’t leave the house can become very boring and the others very overwhelming.

 

Balance in schoolwork per day

When I do schoolwork, I usually do it after breakfast then right up to when I go to bed with taking breaks for tea, dance and running. But then I get burnt out because that’s all I do all day.

 

Balance in workouts

I often don’t really take days off of working out, except one day I do not run and have about 2 hours worth of dance class. Usually, I don’t take breaks just because I don’t know what else to do.

 

 

The plan

First and foremost – get motivation, and for it to be constant motivation instead of the sudden spikes of heavy motivation. I’m not quite sure what that would be to me, and I’m going to work on finding out what is motivating. Currently, I know that stretching after a tough run is motivating because I love stretching and it’s so relaxing, it’s like a reward once the workout is over. And in the morning if I make a little sweet potato hash that motivates me to get up and get cooking.

 

Schoolwork balance

I need to set certain times for myself that I should be working, like do schoolwork for a bit in the morning then lunch break, and for all the afternoon plus workout break, then that’s it for the day so it’s not too much. Oh, hey I just set my schedule right there! Then I need to take long term breaks as well, like actually not doing things on the weekend. Now I’ll just need to find things to do in the breaks.

 

Workout balance

One word – yoga. Balance is the whole point of yoga, isn’t it? Or something along those lines. Yoga is not as strenuous as always running, and it’s stretching which I love!

 

Social balance

This can be hard because my friends who go to school often can only get together when there’s time off of school, so it all tends to be at around the same time. But I will try to spread out things and keep a little busy all the time!

 

 

Officially getting back to school tomorrow so more posts on homeschooling are coming soon! Also, do other homeschoolers struggle with balance, too? What keeps you balanced? And what do you do in your break time?

 

P.S. It’s Peri

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Balance + Motivation

  1. I love this post and your goals! I have to agree, balance in the 2017 would be ideal. I’m the type of person who is either on 200% and is a workaholic or I’m completely off and don’t get anything done for days. This was so enjoyable to read! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much!! Balance is so hard, I didn’t really realize until recently how unbalanced I am, but it probably helps so much with happiness to be balanced. Good luck on trying to be more balanced!! And from what I’ve read on your blog I love it 😊

      Like

  2. I think we all struggle finding the perfect balance from time to time. I know I do! I homeschool my son and I do have to keep him motivated or he would play Minecraft all day! It helps that he has online classes at specific times and then I try to schedule our time together, but we still keep things flexible. And yoga is fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Balance is SO hard and you’re tackling it in all the right ways! There is no right or wrong to balance and its how you chose! Apart of balance for me is making sure i take care of myself in the best way i know how! Sounds like you have a good idea of what you want, but don’t forget to be kind to yourself if it doesn’t work out exactly how you planned! Maybe it happened that way for a reason !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

