Big Book of Awesome 

I started my Big Book of Awesome in October and it’s been super helpful, more than I could’ve thought it would be! Actually, my mum had made it wayyy before and I didn’t touch it because I thought it was a dumb idea ( sorry mum, I love you ) and I kept forgetting about it.

 

 

What is it?

It was originally inspired by The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens and some worksheets that my mum had printed off the Internet that went with the book and things he talked about. Now it’s sort of progressed into almost a Bullet Journal or life planner kinda thing. I have a daily journal where I dump my thoughts and write down what happened each day, but it’s definitely not pretty since that’s where I just pour my thoughts out, and I wanted to make a pretty journal like the Bullet ones because those make me really happy so I did that in the BBA.

 

 


The BBA currently consists of the first part which is the 7 Habits worksheets still so I can easily go back to the Habits. The next is career, I only have the results of an aptitude test right now but I assume there will be more to add to that. Then it’s the goals and as you’ve probably seen from my previous post I put a lot of value and thought into my goals so that’s the biggest section of the book. It’s where I write down all of my goals and keep track of previous ones and have my major, long-term goals written down. Next is the mission statement section. This is from 7 Habits and it’s basically just setting down your personal morals or what’s important to you and what you’re going to try to always hold yourself to in your life. Here I’ve collected quotes that inspire me and that I like what they’re trying to get across then took out all the common points and wrote down a rough, not too fancy, outline of my mission statement. After that, I have a section of people I admire and who inspire me. I once read, when I was maybe 10, that it’s really important for teens to have good role models but for some reason I thought then that only really famous people could be role models, or something I don’t really know what I thought a role model was, but I decided to learn about people who seemed really successful. Right now I only have Sir Winston Churchill and Cassey Ho from Blogilates but I’ll definitely work on that. Relationships are the subject of the next section, which just has the defintion of The Relationship Bank Account from 7 Habits.

Then it’s motivation where I have all the reason why I workout and motivation to workout. Next section is about school and things that I find wrong with the current situation and the plans for the next two years of high school. I always write a monthly to do list then put them in the book once the month is over and I’m now just realizing I could probably throw them out instead LOL. Then things in life that I’m finding are not working so I can set goals to change them because this is the year of change for me. Finally my new and most favourite section – the enjoyable things one, where I write down things to do that are relaxing and make me happy! Yesterday’s post on Hobby Hunting goes into much more detail on this.

How it is helpful to me

I feel like this just keeps my goals and things organized, and makes it me feel like I’ve got my crap together when I’m feeling overwhelmed. I can keep important paperwork there, it reminds me to do things when I look through and see the goals and know what I’m working towards, and it’s fun to make it pretty like a Bullet Journal. It was interesting, too, to see how where I want to be in a year has changed since I wrote it in October, and how my goals and everything is almost constantly changing, and since they’re in the book I can just update them. This is also one of my favourite things to do when I’m really bored because it’s pretty productive and helps with future productivity!
That’s it for now! I hope everyone is having an awesome day 😊

P.S. It’s Peri

27 thoughts on “Big Book of Awesome 

  1. I love this idea. I have notes and goals scattered everywhere so it is perfect to keep them all together! I think I am going to give this a go, thank you so much for sharing!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

