Homeschool FAQs

With exams being this week here, I’ve been getting asked a lot of questions about homeschooling so I thought I would answer some of the most common ones!

 

  • Do you have to take exams?

I do not. Exams are just to make sure that you’re learning what is being taught, I just do my schoolwork until I have mastered it or know it pretty well then move on to the next thing.

  • Why do you homeschool?

Because of my severe nut allergy and how schools weren’t good about it then, and my parents decided that it’s a better way of education for us. For more check outΒ A History Of My Homeschooling (#backstoryweek)

  • Is it fun?

Sometimes, yeah! But most of the time, it’s incredibly boring, just like public school. My family has lots of fun some days together, and being able to go places or basically do what I want is fun. I don’t have a classroom filled with other kids, though, so it doesn’t get too exciting.

  • Who teaches you?

I do some things online, and those things are videos with teachers, and other things are from books and if I need help I will ask my mum, or Google.

  • Do you get to sit around in pyjamas all day?

If I wanted to? But no. I love clothes too much, and I think that would make me get quite depressed.

  • Do you get a summer break?

This dependsΒ on the year, usually, I just lessen the amount of schoolwork I do, but last year and what I will probably do this year, I took off the same time as kids in public school did. I do not take PD days off, though because those don’t apply to me at all.

  • Do you get to sleep in?

YESSSS! Honestly favourite part of homeschooling. I used to wake up between 10 or 11 am but now I have been getting up earlier around 8 am to do Pilates. And I usually stay up really late.

  • How do you make friends?

See my post onΒ The S Word.

  • What about the high school experience?

I don’t even know what this is, but I get asked this a lot. The only thing I can think of is going to maybe school sports games, school dances or things like that, and I can just ask my friends who go to public school to invite me.

  • What about extracurricular things?

A lot of things are offered in the local homeschool group or community centres.

 

If you have any questions about homeschooling feel free to ask them in the comments or contact me!

 

P.S. It’s Peri

 

 

 

36 thoughts on “Homeschool FAQs

    1. Yeah it is pretty different per person, some do “unschooling” where you learn from lots of different experiences. People who do this tend to travel and then usually do an online or in book math curriculum. Then there’s also just doing public school classes online and those are exactly the same thing that schools do just at home and online. Mine is sort of in between with trying to have lots of experiences and then doing things like math and science with different online curriculums since I want to go into the health field. Then there’s definitely other ways of doing things since everyone is different but those are some of the two main styles of homeschooling!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Peri, since you came over to follow me, I am guessing you saw my haiku. If so, you already know I think you are blessed to be homeschooled. The young people I know from home schools are all top of the class kinds of youth. I know some of them because of our association in Toastmasters International (a speech and leadership club.) I am confident you would love to belong if there is a group near to you. We have a sixteen year old. That is probably younger than most clubs take, but they might make an exception. I look forward to traveling with you in the blogging world. I’m following back.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Peri! Nice to meet you (in the blogging world) πŸ™‚ I’m homeschooled too, and I think it’s just as awesome as other people think “regular” school is–but honestly, to me, it’s WAY cooler! I love that my brother and I can do so many things (like travel and sports) because of our flexible schedule. Always glad to meet fellow homeschoolers (especially the ones in high school) πŸ™‚ I followed your blog, cuz I can’t wait to read more of your posts!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi Beatrice, I love your name! True those are really great reasons to homeschool. I love having flexibility to do what I want and when. I’m so glad there’s other homeschool bloggers out there and I’m happy you found my blog so I can get to know you! Thanks so much for following, I hope you enjoy it!! πŸ€—

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I just checked my 8 year old son into home schooling this week. This really helped me get more insight. He should be up and running next week once his materials arrive. I wish you much success. I attended online school for my last 2 years of college and now I’m attending grad school online and I have loved it. I don’t think I could go back on campus. Good luck

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I’m homeschooled, too! Although it seems like we’ve had very different experiences, I always love seeing how other people do homeschooling!
    What grade are you in? Are you a member of any homeschool group? πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s great! I love seeing other homeschoolers out there! Are you currently homeschooled? And have you always been homeschooled? I’m in grade 11, right now. My family is part of the local group of homeschoolers, but we’re not very active in it.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Ooo!! That’s really cool! Are you going into college or something along those lines after then? I did once for an art class several years ago, then moved away, but it was pretty enjoyable! Is that what you did with your homeschooling?

          Like

  5. I have been attracted to homeschooling but still reluctant (for my son who is going to be 6). What about the school experience! Where will he make friends! And questions like those always stop me. But your post was insightful. Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

