Seeking Style 1 – Stalking ( New Series! )

I love fashion. I have always loved fashion, but for the longest time, I didn’t actually wear anything for my style. In fact, I didn’t even know what my style was. This past year I decided to really put a lot of work into my personal style and wardrobe!

 

 

Welcome to the series

Seeking Style Series will be about how I found my personal style, clothes shopping, getting deals, and basically anything on how I set up my wardrobe, plus tips! And I will post them on Saturdays because Seeking Style Series Saturdays is just so much fun to say. Ok, let’s get on with the first post in the series!

 

Seeking style

As I said before, I’ve always loved fashion but not really known what to wear. And there was the transition from wearing little kids clothes to adult and realizing that I could expand on what I wore. I wasn’t too sure what I would like to wear, though, so that’s how the first step to Style Seeking happened.

 

Pin away my friends

In order to find what I would like to wear, I turned to Instagram and Pinterest, when in doubt – Instagram and Pinterest. There are so many fashion bloggers and people with good style out there on Instagram and Pinterest, it opens up a whole world of possibilities and inspiration! This took awhile because my taste changed a bit but it’s my favourite part! At first, I thought I really liked preppy sort of things and I do tend to lean towards the more preppy style, with lots of sweaters, stripes, florals and anything nautical. So that’s where I started my search. I made a Pinterest board where I pinned every outfit I slightly liked, and that style progressed into what I really like from the basis of the preppy outfits. The point is to pin as much as you can for outfit inspiration. Be an inspiration sponge!

 

screenshot-2017-01-15-at-15-17-41
Earlier on things I pinned that are preppy.

 

 

Narrowing it down

After pinning for awhile I found specific pieces that were common in outfits I liked, so I made separate boards for outfits with those common pieces, such as one for patterned pants. Figuring out what pieces of clothing you like specifically helps with narrowing down your search in finding outfit inspiration and more specifically your style.

screenshot-2017-01-15-at-15-17-18
A little later on, finding things more for fall.

 

 

Style queens

Screenshot 2017-01-15 at 15.54.02.png
The fall “uniform” and some of my faves from Steffy.

While on a pinning spree I discovered that some of the same fashion bloggers kept having outfits that I loved, that’s where stalking comes in. After narrowing it down to a few bloggers I followed most of their social media and went through all of their posts and saved what I liked for inspiration. This took so. Long. But it was fun to look at such great outfits! Some of my favourite style bloggers are AshleyJulietteRebeccaNoelleSophia, and Steffy. Noelle is the main inspiration for my style, I love the touches of red, sweaters, skirts and shorts!

 

Through Style Stalking, I found that I like the “French Girl” style and pretty feminine outfits with still being kinda comfy and practical. I love r ed lipstick, splashes of red and pink are the only few colours otherwise it’s mostly neutral which keeps it classic and a little more mature, yet still young since I’m a teen. Crazy patterned pants and shorts make me happy, and sweaters are super cozy and nice in cold Canada. The point of Style Stalking is to pin, pin, pin, and start to find the similarities in the outfits to see the things you like!

 

The next Seeking Style will be on making your own personal “uniform”. Subscribe to my email list for updates and check out my Pinterest to see the clothing board!

P.S. It’s Peri

 

 

20 thoughts on “Seeking Style 1 – Stalking ( New Series! )

  1. I’m so excited for this series! I need major help figuring out my style, as of today I have no clue what clothes suit me and I have no clue how to figure it out! I’m sure this series will help me tones😊

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Great Series to start! I’m excited to follow it! I’m going through personal growth right now… that’s a nice way to say I’m finding my self again LOL! My kids are getting older and I have time to spend on myself… 🙂 I am going to follow your first assignment and start pinning styles I like – finally homework I want to do!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

