Seeking Style 2 – Uniform

What looks good on you

First things first, let’s talk about what looks good on you. There seems to be so many fashion rules and tips about how to dress your body type, but everyone’s different so rules don’t really apply well. Try on many different styles and things that appeal to you. The key is to just keep trying new things. It helps to bring someone along with you to get an opinion on how these new styles look on you since it’s hard to tell on yourself sometimes. Make sure it’s someone whose opinion on your fashion you value, I’m not going to ask my little brother to come shopping with me and give me opinions on how I look. Wear what makes you feel good!!! Ok, now on to the whole point of this post.

What is a “uniform”?

After going through tonnes of pins and stalking lots of fashion Instagram accounts ( see Seeking Style 1 ) I started to see the similarities in the style and outfits that I had saved and from that came each season’s “uniform”. This “uniform” method makes shopping easier and it’s a good basis for the rest of your wardrobe. The idea of this “uniform” is to have a basic outfit that is your go-to for that season. So, for example,  in summer I like to wear a pair of patterned or colourful shorts. And I found out that is the look I like from seeing how many pins I had that were a pair of shorts and a more plain top. I also like skirts and cute dresses so, my summer “uniform” options would be a top, and fun shorts or a dress, or a top and skirt. Then in fall, I like patterned pants as an alternative to the fun shorts, and sweaters because they’re so cozy, I would also wear this in the winter. Skirts and dresses with tights are also part of the fall “uniform” because those are a little too cold for winter.

 

Summer uniform inspiration from Pinterest
Winter inspiration from Pinterest, though I believe this is Steffy from Steffy Pros and Cons

How to build a uniform

It’s really quite easy. Just go through all of your pins and outfit inspiration pictures and figure out what the main common pieces are, then that’s your uniform! It’s just like dissecting outfits down to the very basic parts.

fullsizerender-12

 

Keep reading for more Seeking Style posts! And don’t forget to read Seeking Style 1 if you haven’t already!

P.S. It’s Peri

Email List | Pinterest | Instagram

17 thoughts on “Seeking Style 2 – Uniform

Leave a Reply

