OMG am I weird? #homeschoolproblems

“I forgot you were homeschooled!” the best compliment I can remember getting. There are so many stereotypes about homeschoolers being weird, unsocialized and incredibly awkward and I took forgetting that I was homeschooled as a great compliment to me being able to blend in with the other kids. I’ve been homeschooled my whole life and it’s always been a fear of mine that I would end up like an alien to everyone else having not had that common experience. I want to fit in but not too much.

 

Different

Being homeschooled, you might be different. Just going to face it. You don’t have that common experience that the majority of other people have that’s school in a classroom with other people the exact same age as you. And honestly, that is such a good thing! Don’t wanna be basic like that.

ninabasic

 

It also doesn’t mean you’re completely insane or anything, either! I think that homeschooling really lets you be yourself because there isn’t really the pressure to be like the “popular kids” or anyone else, you can just be you.

fullsizerender-14

I kind of pride myself in being very much myself and sometimes I can be a bit weird, but it’s me. I am still a pretty typical teenager, though. I fangirl over anything fangirlable LOL, I go to the mall with my friends, I spend way too much time on Instagram stalking makeup accounts and way too much time on Snapchat, but not using the dog filter because, again, not basic LOL. Sometimes, though, I don’t really feel like a teenager, which is probably a good thing, or at least I tell myself it means I’m more mature, even though that’s probably not true at all.

It is a great thing to find out who you are and really embrace it. People spend their whole lives trying to find who they are and some never do, they just live a life like everyone else. Public schools build mental models that shape the way kids think, forcing them all to think similarly and live the same. Go to school, get some sort of job, start a family somewhere in there, retire then just hang out until that’s it. I want to be different and not fall into the typical life flow because that doesn’t sound very fun to me.

WOO! That was a good little rant!

 

Sheltered

There is the stereotype that homeschoolers are very sheltered and don’t know what’s going on in the world or anything from pop culture. There were a few years where I definitely was sheltered, but I was also not that old so that was good and I’m thankful for maintaining a little innocence as long as I could but not too long.

 

Avoiding being sheltered

One word for how I’m not sheltered – Internet. I love social media, it’s one of my crazy dreams to be kind of Internet famous so I tend to be on it a lot. Some of my best friends all go to public schools. I listen to music that’s popular, occasionally watch popular TV shows. My family has a joke that we have “culture class” if we learn any new term or anything from pop culture. I kind of try to not be sheltered by making sure I’m sort of up to date on trends and things but really, as long as you’re not completely out of it, it doesn’t matter at all.

 

Not every homeschooler is weird, we’re just like everyone else, just not in the same place as everyone else – in a public school. But embrace all your differences because it’s what makes you, you!

 

 

P.S It’s Peri

Email List | Pinterest | Instagram | Twitter

21 thoughts on “OMG am I weird? #homeschoolproblems

  1. Loved this! This is a wonderful post all about Homeschool steryotypes. I once read a post that a homeschool mom posted about homeschool steryos, and one of the things was that her neighbor didn’t think her daughter could read! Because she was homeschooled! I thought that was a little ridiculus.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved this post so much! Sometimes I feel different (In a bad way) because I am homeschooled, sometimes I wished I was normal and went to school, but this really made me feel better about being a homeschooler! Thanks for posting this! 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

      1. Possibly. Alien in that your background, culture, or values don’t align. You’re a square peg in a round hole. You think differently. You don’t fit in. People don’t always appreciate or even like you. You can be more lonely in a crowd than when you’re alone.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. “ ‘I forgot you were homeschooled!’ the best compliment I can remember getting.”

    I personally don’t take this as a compliment because I like to stand out as an individual instead of blending in with the crowd. Also, mostly when my friends say that they forgot I am homeschooled, they get kind of depressed because they’re not homeschooled! What can you do?
    – Megan Joy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is true about the not standing out! I was just happy that I didn’t seem too weird or socially awkward that I’d stand out so much. And same about the wishing they were homeschooled! Poor things 😂😂

      Like

  4. Oh my goodness, Peri…you just shattered some of the biggest stereotypes I’m sure a lot of us homeschoolers hate being associated with!
    I think because we’re taken out of a “sardine can” setting, we really have the space to find who we really are and, exactly like you said, we aren’t constantly surrounded by the pressure to be what we’re not. That’s why I love homeschool. It’s like…they laugh cuz we’re different (which is awesome, by the way), while we laugh because they’re all the same!

    Love this post.

    *applause* ❤❤❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

