Gluten Free Muffin Experiments

I’ve been very gluten free baking curious, often my stomach doesn’t like regular flour so I usually just avoid it but I had been craving muffins REALLY BADLY, so I decided to do some experiments with gluten free muffin baking. Muffins are generally quite forgiving and you can not follow a basic recipe at all and they’ll still turn out pretty well.

 

First try – testing flours.

Rice vs coconut

I, unfortunately, did not get any pictures of the first try because I was half awake while doing this. I had just woken up and decided that I needed muffins, looked up a recipe, then stumbled downstairs pre-caffeine to make these.

There was a bag of coconut flour and a bag of rice flour, I didn’t see many recipes with the rice flour and I hadn’t baked with coconut flour before so I decided to do a test mug muffin with both flours based off of this recipe for a coconut flour mug cupcake. Muffins are just cupcakes without icing.

Both of the test muffins were actually pretty awful because I didn’t put in vanilla or anything for flavouring, but it gave me a good idea of the flours. The rice flour muffin was almost gummy, I’m guessing the rice protein made it that way. It also seemed to require a lot more flour since it was very soupy, I then added another 2 tbsp of rice flour to that one. The coconut flour had an almost nutty taste to it. It was also pretty soupy but I later found out that coconut flour needs to sit with the wet ingredients for a bit to soak it in. Overall the coconut flour was much better.

 

Blueberry muffins

After deciding on the type of flour I was going to use I looked for some coconut flour recipes and found this one, which made quite a bit of muffins and gave an explanation on why there are so many eggs. Instead of 1/2 cup of coconut oil I used butter, which was probably too much butter, but they were really buttery and delicious.

IMG_9483

The batter was more like a dough, pretty crumbly and thick but they still turned out nice and fluffy.

IMG_9484

The texture was almost the same as regular flour muffins. All in all I really like them!!

 

 

Double chocolate muffins

Originally, I wanted to try to make these with black beans, but then I wasn’t sure if my brother would eat them then plus there were no black beans in the house, so that’ll have to be another experiment later!

FullSizeRender (16)

These I made from this recipe, which again, is for cupcakes. The muffin would be really great frosted actually, I might just do that.

I didn’t change anything from the recipe, the only thing I might change is try adding in some fat or apple sauce, or something because they’re a little dry. Or the frosting could help with that.

 

 

The best kind of experiments are baking ones.

 

P.S It’s Peri

Email List | Pinterest | Instagram | Twitter

9 thoughts on “Gluten Free Muffin Experiments

  1. I’ve never heard of putting black beans in muffins before! It sounds kind of cool. Now with all this yummy talk, I want my sister to make her wonderful & famous cheddar cheese biscuits! Rats, I think we’re all out of cheddar! 😦
    – Megan Joy

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I had to cut out gluten for a couple weeks and it was so hard! I couldn’t eat foods like this and I was DYING 😆I might have liked it better if I had these babies. I nominated you for the Blogger Recognition Award. Check out my latest post for details!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

