Face Masks

People seem to be pretty obsessed with face masks. Often on Instagram or Snapchat people will have pictures of themselves with face masks. I don’t really have acne so I haven’t done much for skin care, but I do have lots of blackheads and pretty dry skin. I decided to try out some DIY masks and see how they are. This is what hours of being on Pinterest does to you.

 

Cinnamon mask

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

This one was kind of terrifying looking. I mixed about a tablespoon of cinnamon with 1 tbsp honey and lemon juice until it became a paste the I could spread around. Honey moisturizes, cinnamon has antibacterial properties and lemon lightens scars. This mask burned. Which I guess meant it was working? Or just that it was so spicy from all the cinnamon. I didn’t see any visible changes after using it once, maybe after a few more times it’ll show up. All day after this all I could smell was cinnamon, too, it was super hard to wash it all off.

 

Gelatin mask

I’ve always been really curious about gelatin masks. There are a lot of recipes on Pinterest for different gelatin based masks so I just winged it.

 

FullSizeRender (18)

Gelatin mask recipe

1 tbsp honey

1 tbsp non-flavoured gelatin

2 tbsp milk

Mix everything into a thick paste in a microwavable bowl, then microwave the paste for 30 seconds. Mine bubbled up a lot so I would just watch it to be sure that it doesn’t bubble over. Once it’s cooled down a little spread paste all over your face or on places that have blackheads.

FullSizeRender (17).jpg

The paste it made was very weird and after awhile it dried up into a jelly, it was more like dried glue on my face. The gelatin is supposed to stick to blackheads to get them out, honey is sticky too and moisturizing and I’m guessing milk helps with the moisture as well. Again I didn’t see any visible difference after doing this one time, my face just felt very stiff, but it was better than the burning of the other mask.

 

Do you have any favourite face masks?

 

P.S It’s Peri

Email List | Pinterest | InstagramΒ |Β Twitter

10 thoughts on “Face Masks

  1. If you keep doing the cinnamon mask, would you tell me if it worked after awhile? I’ll let you be the genie pig!
    Also, just a note for all vegetarians and vegans – The gelatin mask is not vegetarian, but you could use a gelatin substitute, like agar.
    – Megan Joy

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

